What Should I Do After an Uber or Lyft Car Accident?

Our Alexandria Car Accident Lawyers at the Law Offices of Duane O. King Offer Legal Advice for Uber and Lyft Accidents

A report by the University of Chicago claims that rideshare services in U.S. cities are associated with a three percent increase in auto accidents and fatalities. It is important to know what to do after a rideshare accident.

As with any motor vehicle accident, medical needs take priority. Call for emergency services and ensure that everyone is taken care of first. You should exchange license and insurance information and snap photos of the scene if possible.

Responding police officers can provide a report after the accident, so ask for their contact information. If anyone witnessed the crash, let the officers know, and they can ask for the contact information. Note if there were any traffic cameras, downed street signs, traffic signals, or anything else that could have contributed to the accident.

How Do Uber and Lyft Accidents Differ From Other Accidents?

Rideshare drivers are not typically vetted in the same ways as other hired drivers. They are not trained but must have a clean driving record, carry minimal auto insurance, and have a four-door vehicle in decent condition. It can be difficult to know how to file a claim due to multiple parties and insurance policies.

Both Uber and Lyft carry a $1,000,000 commercial liability policy, but it will only apply in the following circumstances:

  • If the Uber or Lyft driver was waiting for a ride request at the crash, the company may cover up to $50,000 per person for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage.
  • If the driver was transporting a passenger or picking one up, you can file a claim against the liability policy.

Bear in mind that the rideshare driver must have been using the company app at the time of the crash for you to claim on that commercial policy. Otherwise, you can seek damages from the driver’s own policy.

How Long Do I Have to File a Rideshare Accident Claim in Virginia?

Virginia’s statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is two years. Many things can happen in that amount of time, and memories fade. It makes sense to contact a car accident lawyer promptly. This way, you will have legal guidance from the outset and be better equipped to make the right decisions.

Our Alexandria Car Accident Lawyers at the Law Offices of Duane O. King Offer Legal Advice for Uber and Lyft Accidents

Uber and Lyft accidents are handled differently than other crashes. Contact our Alexandria car accident lawyers at the Law Offices of Duane O. King to learn more. Call 202-331-1963 or contact us online for a free consultation. Located in Washington, D.C., Alexandria, and Falls Church, Virginia, we serve clients in Prince George’s County, including Laurel, Beltsville, Adelphi, College Park, Greenbelt, Mitchellville, Woodmore, Greater Upper Marlboro, Springdale, Largo, Bowie, Capitol Heights, District Heights, Forestville, Suitland, Seat Pleasant, Clinton, Oxon Hill, Temple Hills, and Fort Washington.